Charleston Town Planning Commission Meeting Minutes for Public Meeting on September 12, 2019

Members Attending: John Kellogg, Chair Blair Moulton, Clerk Hap Eliason, Member Carmen Murray, Member Larry Young, Ex Officio Glenn Peterson, Ex Officio Peter Moskovites, Ex Officio

Members Unable to Attend: Eleanor Leger, Member

The meeting was called to order at 6:35 pm by Chair John Kellogg. Minutes of the June 13, 2019 Planning Commission meeting were read. A motion was made by Larry Young to accept the minutes and seconded by Hap Eliason. The motion passed unanimously.

Under Old Business, an update on the town solar project showed that the array is functioning well but generating energy at about 5% under the planned capacity during its first year of operation. This is due to numerous very cloudy and snowy days during the winter months in 2019 and may correct during the fall months. Mr. Kellogg said another update will be offered at the December meeting when data is available for September to November.

Also under Old Business, Mr. Kellogg reported that conversations with Diana Marckwardt and Penelope Newcomb about the feasibility of establishing a town Energy Committee indicate it may be best to continue to bring energy ideas and issues to the Planning Commission rather than establish a separate Energy Committee.

Also under Old Business, Mr. Kellogg said that during the NVDA review of the 2019 Town Plan, NVDA staff suggested applying for Village Center Designation for East and West Charleston's villages, and applying for a state grant to install a charging station in the town for electric vehicles. Mr. Kellogg said he would look into both of these programs and report back to the commission.

Seeing no New Business before the Commission, Mr. Kellogg asked for a motion to adjourn, which was made by Mr. Eliason and seconded by Blair Moulton. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 7:00 pm. The next meeting of the Planning Commission will be held at 6:30 pm on December 12, 2019 at the Town Office.

Minutes Accepted on December 12, 2019 by:	
John Kellogg, Chair	Blair Moulton, Clerk